The Justice System in the United Kingdom: What You Need to Know

The Justice System in the United Kingdom: What You Need to Know

The justice system in the United Kingdom is one of the appraised systems of the world with respect to its fairness and responsiveness. The United Kingdom is divided into different geographical areas. Each geographical area has its own set of rules and regulations to define the justice system. Four basic justice systems are there which are traced from their historical reasons. English law, Northern Ireland law, Scots law, and Welsh law are considered the major pillars of the justice system in the United Kingdom. In this article, we will try to cover different aspects of all these systems.

Determine Whether You Need Legal Assistance

There are several resources that you can use to know the different parts of the UK will have to offer. There are several resources that you can use. The two most useful are the law changes calendar and the list of legal documents and services available on Law Help Wales. The calendar shows law changes through the next six months in each of the jurisdictions and the list of law services by area. For both of these, it is possible to click on any particular area of a particular jurisdiction and find a list of legal services available within that area. You can even click on a particular case to view the court documents associated with that case.

How is the United Kingdom’s justice system different?

English law and Scots law are two systems with comparable scope. In each system, Scots law is the primary legislation and English law is the secondary legislation. In Scotland, there are two courts of law: the Lord President of the Court of Session and the High Court of Justiciary. In England and Wales, there are two courts of law: the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal. The Lord President is appointed for a period of ten years and may be reappointed after a period of four years,. Whereas the Lord Justice Clerk may be reappointed for a period of twenty-five years. There are also a number of Welsh appeal courts, namely the Court of Session, the High Court of Justice, the Court of Appeal, the Court of Criminal Appeal, and the Welsh Court of Appeal.

English law

The law of England and Wales is based on the Law of England. It was derived from Norman Law or Norman Canon Law, and still reflects aspects of the jurisprudence of that period of history. The remaining portions of English law—such as criminal law, family law, property law, and contract law—can not be derived from Norman Canon Law. Likewise, English law can not be said to have a tradition, or a body of foundational cases, to aid in its jurisprudence. It is instead, simply, the law of England (including Wales), as codified by the Law of England Act 1833 and codified by the Law of England (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1963.

Northern Ireland law

The Northern Ireland House of Commons, the legislative assembly of Northern Ireland, has traditionally consisted of a House of Commons, an upper chamber (the Senate), and a chamber of judges. Northern Ireland is divided into six counties (two of which are further subdivided into 42 postcode areas, with each postcode area being administered as a district), which are divided into constituencies for the purposes of the House of Commons, electing Members of Parliament to Westminster. The members are elected by the Electoral Office for Northern Ireland.

The Constitution of Ireland requires the establishment of an upper house in each island nation. However, because Ireland was never joined to the UK, Northern Ireland chose not to establish an upper house.

Scotland Law

Scotland is split into a number of legal jurisdictions. Whichdiffer from the legal and political jurisdiction of the rest of the UK. The following jurisdictions were originally established by the Acts of Union in 1707, as the union of England and Scotland.

The powers of the Parliament of Scotland, together with those of the Parliament of England, as it existed at the Union, were inherited by the Parliament of Great Britain. The legal system of Scotland is based on common law.

The Crown of Scotland remains under the protection of the Act of Union. The power to legislate for Scotland rests in the Westminster Parliament.

Welsh law

Welsh law is the primary law used in Wales. It is derived from many sources, including English law, Welsh common law, and statutes of the National Assembly for Wales. The Statute of Rhuddlan granted Wales self-governing powers in 1284. Wales first gained full legislative independence in 1536 with the Act of Union between England and Scotland, granting Wales the status of an independent state (though this was repealed in the Acts of Union 1707).

The statute laws of the English law jurisdictions form the subject matter of most acts of Parliament dealing with Wales. The present statute law is supplemented by the Welsh Courts and Tribunal Service. Which is an institution administered under the control of the Welsh Assembly Government, and by the courts and tribunals of England and Wales.


The justice system of the United Kingdom is well explained in the above discussion. Different geographical areas exercise their own justice patterns which are quite vibrant. The evolution of these systems remained gradual and will continue with the passage of time.

Leave a Reply